Lerner University Square Reviews
Overall Property Rating: 3.56 / 5
"I enjoy living here but have mold bin my apartment"
Brittanie, thank you for this 4-star review! We are so happy to hear how much you are enjoying your community and home. We could not be happier to hear you have referred a friend and we hope you enjoy the credit that has been placed on your account! Your Community Manager, Delencia, was on top of it and provided us with a thorough update of your account and let us know she emailed you a follow up. It sounds like maintenance does need to inspect your apartment home and the ticket has been placed, ticket #4131903. We understand you prefer to be present for the inspection. Simply give us a call when you are home and we will coordinate this inspection. We look forward to hearing from you and completing this maintenance ticket for you. Thank you for calling Lerner University Square your home. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"I have enjoyed my stay at University Square Apts. I have no complaints regarding staff or maintenance. The property is very clean and updated. I personally have not had issues parking even late evenings. However, rent is getting pricy. I have had issues with hearing upstairs neighbors walking and floors a bit squeaky."
Tasha, thank you so much for taking the time to leave this great feedback. We will be sure to thank the staff and maintenance for exceeding your expectations. Your Community Manager will be in touch with you shortly to see how we can address your noise concerns. Thank you for calling Lerner University Square your home! Sincerely, Lerner Management
Duane, we're so glad to hear how much you enjoy your home here at University Square. We will be sure to share your feedback with our team. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"This community is very well kept. Its quiet and it has a very secure feel. I can walk into my building late with my babies and not feel that I need to look over my shoulder. The office staff is amazing and its nice to tell them whats going on if you do happen to have an issue. I made a great choice moving here "
Ashley, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoy living at University Square and are happy to call it your home! Sincerely, Lerner Management
"I have lived here for three years and I will tell you this is the closest next best thing to moving into your own home. If you are looking for a nice quiet convenient location this is it. The staff has always been professional. And there has never been a time that I had to wait and wait for maintenance to respond to my request. I loved living here..."
Thank you Ava. We are so happy to hear how much you love your home! Sincerely, Lerner Management
"LARGE ROOMS PARK LIKE SETTING QUIET - NICE NEIGHBORS AND OFFICE STAFF GOOD FOR FAMILIES - NICE AREA ELEMENTARY AND HIGH SCHOOL .... MIDDLE SCHOOL IS OKAY METROBUS AND THE BUS - WHEN YOU DON'T FEEL LIKE DRIVING "
Tara, We thank you for this 5-star review! Sincerely, Lerner Management
"Peace and quiet"
Thank you so much for this 5-Star review, Dyann! We are happy that you are enjoying the University Square community! Sincerely, Lerner Management
"I would highly recommend living here. Large rooms. Efficient and fast maintenance if needed. Beautifully landscaped. Very helpful management office. Washer and dryer in each unit. The rent is very reasonable compared to other apartment complexes in this area."
Mindy, we are thrilled to hear how much you are enjoying your home here at Lerner University square! We will be sure to thank the team for providing you with great customer service. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"Good Enough to be Relax and Enjoy Life "
Saul, we're glad to hear you are enjoying the community so far! Thanks for calling University Square your home. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"I would tell them you all are professional, you answer around the clock 24 7 and that you have spacious floor plans."
LaKisha, thank you for this positive review! We're glad to know you're enjoying the community so far! Thanks for calling University Square your home! Sincerely, Lerner Management
"Basically staff, room, parking and other amenity are better or fair, but walls are very thin."
Ippei, we strive to deliver our residents and guests with 5-star service and we regret to see we are providing you with fair service. Your Community Manager has emailed you to see what improvements we can make in order to offer you a more pleasurable experience. We can’t wait to hear from you and to improve your overall experience with us! Sincerely, Lerner Management
"nice quite clean excellent customer service from management team."
Thank you so much for this excellent 5-Star review, John! Our team will be so happy to hear that you enjoy calling University Square your home! Sincerely, Lerner Management
"I love living in University Square apartments."
Lydia, we are so thrilled to hear of your wonderful experience with us! Thank you for taking the time to leave this fabulous review. Our maintenance and office team will be very excited to hear of your great experience with us. Thank you for calling Lerner Excelsior Tower your home. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"I honestly like the property. The neighborhood is very quiet and seems pretty safe. Parking is horrible though especially for your guests. I don't think there is sufficient parking and often find myself parking several buildings from my apartment. I can hear every single step my neighbor makes above me and it's been 2 months that they claim they're trying to get the neighbor to move and add reinforcement. Overall its a good property but they just need to make a few tweaks and things will be okay."
Anna-Kay, Thank you for the great review! Your community manager will be in touch with you shortly to try to identify and address each of your concerns regarding the parking issues you’ve encountered. Please feel free to reach out to her directly at dhairston@Lerner.com any time in order for us to quickly address your questions. We look forward to speaking with you and improving your overall experience. Sincerely, Lerner Management.
"Quite but the floors need fixing"
Amy, we are thrilled to see your 5-star rating for your maintenance team at University Square! It does sound like there are some items that can be improved upon and we would love the opportunity to speak with you and resolve these items of concern. Someone from our management team will be in touch with you to resolve these items. Best regards, Lerner Management
"I would highly recommend them especially students that attend UMCP"
Won, we really appreciate this wonderful review! We will be sure to thank the team for exceeding your expectations as well. Thanks for providing your feedback and for calling Lerner University Square your home. We would love to hear from you how we can improve our rating and provide you with 5-star service. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"The renovations are great, the staff is awesome and the neighbors are not bothersome or rude. The only problem here is parking availability."
Lakeecha, we are thrilled to hear how much you enjoy your home! Thanks for the rating! Sincerely, Lerner Management
"I really enjoyed my stay at University Square, the parking can be crazy at times, but all in all its a great place to live. Maintenance was timely and the office staff are very helpful."
Ursula, thank you for taking the time to leave this fabulous feedback! We are thrilled to hear what a great experience you have had with us. Thank you for calling Lerner University Square your home. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"Good location. Not enough visitor parking. Neighborhood is very good."
Glen, thank you for taking the time to rate us and provide us with your feedback. We are very happy to hear you like the location and neighborhood. We will certainly take the visitor parking into consideration for future development. Thank you for calling Lerner University Square your home! Sincerely, Lerner Management
"I have been a tenant since 2014, and I must say, the apartments are very spacious, up-to-date furnishings, clean, maintenance calls are handle in a timely manner. They are on top of repairs, up keep of the property. I love living here and just renewed my lease for another year. I'm very happy here and the rental staff is very professional and courteous. "
Adrienne, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoy living at University Square and that you renewed your lease! I'm sure the staff will be pleased to hear this news. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"Wonderful, close to stores, shopping centers, and bank. Public transportation is at your feet."
Cynthia, thank you for providing us with your great feedback! We are thrilled to hear how much you are enjoying the convenient location of your home. Thank you for calling Lerner University Square your home! Sincerely, Lerner Management
"Office staff are nice"
Thank you for your positive feedback! We are happy to hear the staff is taking care of you. We strive to provide 5-star service and would love your feedback on how we can further improve. Thank you for calling Lerner University Square your home, Derrick! Sincerely, Lerner Management
Thank you so much for this excellent 5-Star review, Mariam! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoy your home! Sincerely, Lerner Management
Andrea, thank you for this great review! We are thrilled to hear you are having a wonderful experience with us. We strive to deliver our residents and guests with 5-star service and would love to hear how we can improve your experience overall. Thank you for calling Lerner University Square your home. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"General - For the price, they could try a little harder. When my roommate and I first moved in there was some confusion about the unit we wanted to rent. We were able to lease a cheaper unit that was recently unavailable. But, the electricity was off and we'd already made plans to move. We were working with Portia who did her best to alleviate the situation since the problem was obviously an oversight by someone else in the office. We spent the weekend with extension cords running through our apartment. There was nothing offered to compensate for the major inconvenience. Parking is great, and the neighborhood is generally nice. Maintenance - They take care of major issues in a timely fashion. Smaller issues are typically ignored. Construction - Although these units are updated with modern appliances, we noticed the construction was poor after moving into our unit. The floors are significantly unlevel, visibly noticeable when you put furniture in the apartment. For example, you can see that the doorways are slanted, and items roll off of tables and desks without effort. Fixtures and doors are also crooked. This is very annoying. The heat insulation is not the best. The master bedroom at the end of the apartment is constantly drafty, frigid even when the temperature drops. Noise - You can hear everything Thankfully our building is fairly quiet. But, we can clearly hear our neighbors conversations when they have company and the buzzer for the main building door. The walls within the units are also very thin. Something to note. Staff - Portia is great, she has a high level of customer service and does her best, given circumstances that are most times out of her control. The office overall could benefit from greater attention to detail and willingness to ensure customer satisfaction. "
Chauntel, we appreciate your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve the experience of our residents and this feedback certainly helps us evaluate and improve our level of service. We are happy to hear Portia was able to assist you in a frustrating situation. As for your experience with our maintenance team, we can assure you small and large requests are important to us. We do not want you to feel like any items are ever ignored. While there is some lag time when items need to be ordered, there should never be an item left untouched. Your Community Manager will be in touch with you to see what items need to be addressed within your apartment home. We look forward to speaking with you and improving your experience. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"While the commmunity appearance is fairly well maintained, the staff is very unprofessional. Calls are not returned, messages are ignored. At my last renewal, we signed the paperwork in the office. The property manager was not there at the time. As a result, we had to come back to pick up our copies, while they could have simply sent someone and drop it at our door. I would not recommend to friends relatives."
Stephane, we are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with your home. We thank you for leaving this feedback as it will help us improve going forward. A member of our staff will be in touch with you to discuss other areas we can improve to make the renewal process as simple as possible. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"I really love living at University Square. The apartment is spacious, the grounds are kept up and the staff members are very professional. The only thing that I don't like is when the main door to our apartment is broken by others. This has occurred at least 3 times since I've been living here. I really feel secure in my building but not so secure when this happens. Maybe there should be another method in securing the locked door. At the moment there has been a screw in our door for almost a week."
Pamela, we sincerely thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are thrilled to hear how much you love your spacious apartment home and staff in the office. We are happy to hear that your Community Manager has touched base with you and resolved your concerns and the door is now fixed. We will be keeping a closer eye on the door to try and understand why this is a reoccurring issue. Thank you for calling Lerner University Square your home! Sincerely, Lerner Management
"The grounds are well kept, the maintenance staff is good. d of The office staff overall is professional and helpful. I am not to found of the pre-dated memos that you receive 24 hours before a, filter change etc. if your lucky. If you can send out a pool party notice a week in advance, why can't I get a filter change notice a week in advance "
Maria, we are thrilled to see this 5 star review and hear your great feedback! We will be sure to thank the maintenance and office staff for taking care of you and maintaining a community you enjoy calling home. We are also happy to hear your Community Manager has reached out to you to try and address your concerns over the memos for filter changes. Our goal is to improve your experience. Your feedback is very important to us and we are listening! We hope Delencia adequately addressed this concern. As she mentioned, please feel free to reach out to her anytime. Thank you for calling Lerner University Square your home. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"I love were I live right now, I'm not afraid to walk my dog at night or come in late from an late outing at night. very nice community, very quiet, The only problem I have with noice the people above me, it's like they don't have enough padding under their carpet, so I hear them a lot walking around, but it may be that they are just heavy walkers. The people who work in the office are nice. Porsche who help me was the best ever. I would give her 5 stars anytime."
Deirdre, we could not be happier to hear your excitement for your home and community. We will also be sure to thank the office team and specifically Portia for going above and beyond. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and for calling Lerner University Square your home. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"I have lived here for about a year now, just received my information to renew and I am absolutely going to renew. No issues in my apartment this far "
Priscilla, thank you for leaving us such a great review and for calling University Square your home. We look forward to many years to come! Sincerely, Lerner Management.
"I went to the office to request that they remind our neighbors upstairs to refrain from making loud squeaking sounds on the floor by their footsteps walking back and forth directly up our bedroom every night which starts at around 11 00 p.m. up to about 1 00 a.m. but nothing happened in fact it became worst because before I reported it to the office the people upstairs doesn't have a dog yet, but now they don't just have a dog but two dogs that contribute to the noise that they are creating. After sometime, about two months later just four days ago I even emailed the office to complain the same problem but until now I haven't received any response much less action on this matter. I told them that the floor is creating a loud squeaking sound and maybe, just maybe they fix it to eliminate the annoying sound. We can also hear the sound of their conversation. It seems the apartment is not sound proof. The worst thing here is it is sleeping time and at this juncture we are already sound asleep and we are being awakened by the loud squeaking sound. Just imagine we have to go to work early in the morning not having a good sound sleep. All of us need peace and quiet environment "
Nimfa, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We can only imagine how frustrating this must be. We are currently working with the team to see how this can be addressed to improve your experience. A member of our team will be in touch soon. We appreciate your patience as we work together to find a solution. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"We have been here 3 years and the parking is the biggest issue and enforced towing is a major turnoff. We happen to have handicap placards but so do 4 other vehicles in our area. My vehicle was parked in the handicap space about 2 weeks ago and someone broke into the vehicle just to steal the placard, so when to tow guy came through they towed it because the placard was not displayed. Now they took the time to take pictures and all but still towed me. Needless to say, 500 later I'm still livid."
Frances, we sincerely thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It sounds like overall you are happy with the community, however, we have some room for improvement. We can understand how frustrating your experience was with the placard and sorry to hear this happened. A member of our team will be in touch with you shortly. Thank you for bringing these items to our attention. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"The staff is great."
Ashley, thank you for this great feedback! We are thrilled to hear how much you are enjoying your community and it sounds like you have had a great experience with the office staff. We are pretty proud to have them on our team! Please let us know how we can improve your 3-star experience into a 5-star experience. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"They need to allow parking passes for visitors --parking is limited and neighbors above you are extremely noisy. The walls are very thin."
Adena, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We regret to hear you have not had a 5-star experience with us. Your Community Manager will be in touch with you shortly to address each of your concerns you have mentioned. We look forward to speaking with you and really improving your experience with us! Sincerely, Lerner Management
"Layout of the Apartment The layout of the apartment is quite different and makes it difficult for you to create a “home-like” feeling. When selecting your apartment, please make sure to pay attention to how the layout is designed. From experience, I definitely had difficulties trying to rearrange my furniture that I had from a previous apartment to fix into my current living arrangements. Also, please be mindful when selecting furniture for your apartment to ensure that you have flexibility that you want. Rent It is affordable to an extent however, if you are looking for updated amenities in your apartment, you will be paying the same amount as you would for a townhouse and or single family home i.e. mortgage . The apartment complex does have an increase in rent every year. Maintenance The building service workers do complete their task in a timely manner however, I would suggest that they use a high quality of materials when refurbishing and or refinishing amenities in the apartment i.e. painting walls, bathroom, filling holes, etc. to provide you with an overall sense of cleanliness and comfort in your home. Parking Parking is a little congested especially if you are looking to have a few visitors over. The apartment complex has a limited amount of parking for visitor especially since some of the residents parking in visitors as well. Visitors’ only options are to either park on the street or in a different lot away from your residence. Facilities There is an onsite work out center, however there is not a lot of equipment to complete a thorough work out. An update is definitely needed. "
John, we thank you for your candid feedback and 5-star review. It sounds like you had a difficult time arranging and planning your room with your furniture. We do have floorplan organizers on our websites that show how various furniture pieces will fit in our floorplans. We will be sure our site team mentions these to our prospects while touring. In the future, please feel free to contact your Community Manager directly with any concerns at DHairston@Lerner.com. She will be thrilled to assist and work with you. Thank you for calling Lerner University Square your home. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"Construction is not very good for luxury apartments. No matter where I put my chapstick on any table, it always rolls off. The electric work is not that great either--a couple of times, I have turned on or plugged in one item, which blows out another item in another room. There are new renovations, but they were not done in a very neat way for example, grout all over the bathroom floor, electrical outlets crooked or not fixed sturdy . However, I will say that the ladies in the front office are great, and they were the main reason I chose to live here, besides the location."
Lisa, we cannot stress how excited we were to hear your great experience with the ladies in the leasing office. They really are rock stars and we are proud to have them as team members. We thank you for this feedback. It sounds like you might have a couple maintenance items we need to address. Please feel free to contact your Community Manager at DHairston@Lerner.com with any concerns or requests. Thank you for calling Lerner University Square your home. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"It was very frustrating during the snow storm when we didn't have additional workers to help with the immense snow we had. The office was closed and maintenance was not available to assist at all Our neighbors were more helpful. Most of the cars were blocked in and the assistance was very hard to find help. There should be somewhere to sign for shovels so we have them available for us. The office should be open for a certain time and not be completely closed with no assistance."
Emoni, thank you for your feedback. During snow storms, our maintenance team is always available. Please call the emergency on-call number and someone will readily address your concerns. We do have an emergency snow removal procedure in place which involves clearing the roadways and sidewalks. Please contact the emergency maintenance number this year if you experience frustrating circumstances this year. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"Overall I enjoy my apartment, the staff and maintenance crews are always helpful. Parking is ok depending on the time you get here, I wish the parking spaces were marked on the street to force people to only take up one space. The biggest complaint I have is my horrible upstairs neighbor and the excessive noise. The noise is so bad I would consider not renewing my lease if this neighbor stays here. I don't believe this is the norm but this person is just extremely inconsiderate."
Amanda, nothing makes us happier than to hear how helpful our staff is including the maintenance team! We do want to make sure we address your noise concern. Your Community Manager will be in touch with you shortly to identify exactly where the noise is coming from. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and for taking the time to rate your experience. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"I have lived here for 6 months. It took 5 months for maintenance to complete issues I submitted on my move in check list. The front entry door has not functioned for more than 3 weeks. Controlled access, NOT The floors in the apartment above me squeaks with every footstep taken. I asked for someone to deal with the floors after tenant moved out in September but although the maintenance person stated they had done something to address the problem, since new tenant moved in, it is actually worst. The only factor is grounds upkeep and location."
We are sorry to hear of your frustrations and we want to address these items. Our team is currently looking into these items you have mentioned. It is certainly not the norm for a maintenance ticket to take this long. The team may have had to order parts. Your Community Manager will be in touch with you shortly to address these concerns. We thank you for your patience as we work through this together. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"I am staying here for a year now. This is an excellent and very safe neighborhood. Very peaceful and quiet, surrounded by greenery. You have very easy access to Bus and very close to Greenbelt Metro. For day to day grocery, you have a Co-Op market in the walking distance. You have a nice and big library and community center, wonderful play areas for children and adults. There are fuel stations close by and also within a mile, you have two big shopping areas."
Suryakanti, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this excellent 5-Star review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy the area and are happy to call University Square your home. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"It is OK as far as vehicle safety. Not enough parking or even adequate accessibility for parking close enough to your building. "
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, Amanda. It sounds as though you are satisfied, overall, with your experience. At this time, we do not have reserved parking and is first come, first serve. We are always open to feedback and suggestions on how we can improve the experience of our residents. Please feel free to contact your Community Manager anytime at DHairston@Lerner.com going forward and she will be happy to speak with you. Thank you for calling Lerner University Square your home. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"Location and the overall quality of the apartments."
Lawrence, we are thrilled to hear how much you enjoy your home! Thanks for the rating! Sincerely, Lerner Management
"Safe place to live "
Felicia, at Lerner Residential our primary goal is to provide phenomenal customer service to our residents and guests. Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful feedback about one of our communities. We will be certain to thank the team members responsible for not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. In addition, we look forward to serving any future needs you may have with the same enthusiasm and customer focus. Thank you for choosing to make University Square your home. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"I had to stop what I was doing to post a review to show my appreciation for the management staff at my complex. The property manager is the best that I have ever encountered in my life and I am not exaggerating . Her professionalism exceeds what is expected and I am just so grateful to be living in a complex where my needs are met and my concerns are always heard and taken into careful consideration. I love my home and I hope to be here for a very long tim. "
At Lerner Residential our primary goal is to provide phenomenal customer service to our residents and guests. Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful feedback about one of our communities. We will be certain to thank the team members responsible for not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. In addition, we look forward to serving any future needs you may have with the same enthusiasm and customer focus. Thank you for choosing to make University Square your home and we are so happy you love it! Sincerely, Lerner Management
"I have been living here at this property for a year and today I was looking forward to renewing my lease at the rental office but the young lady at the front desk was so rude and unprofessional I started not to renew hopefully management will recognize this problem and resolve it as soon as possible."
Jonathan, at Lerner Residential our primary goal is to provide phenomenal customer service to our residents and guests. Therefore, we value all feedback whether positive or negative, and view it as an opportunity to improve our customer service. We sincerely apologize that your expectations have not been met and look forward to the opportunity to correct this matter and making your next year better than the last at University Square. Please email your Community Manager at dhairston@Lerner.com with your preferred method of contact. Thank you for choosing to make University Square your home. Sincerely, Lerner Management
"I like living here."
It’s great to hear how much you enjoy your home here at Lerner University Square, Mohammed! Thanks for the 5-Star review! Sincerely, Lerner Management
Leasing Office Hours
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
12:00 pm - 5:00 pm